Why Study Swahili?

Swahili is one of the most important languages in Africa today.  It serves as the national language of four nations: Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.   Swahili is also one of the working languages of the African Union and is officially recognized as a lingua franca of the East African community.  Around 50 to 100 million people speak Swahili, making it an important language for commerce, politics and education.

Dr. Leonard Muaka


Locke Hall 368

Minor in Swahili

Students interested in pursuing a more in depth study of the Swahili language and Brazilian culture can choose to minor in Swahili.  Click on the link below for more information on the minor:

Minor in Swahili

Foreign Language Requirements

Most students at Howard University have a foreign language requirement to graduate.  Depending on their major, students typically take between two to four semesters of a foreign language.  Enrolling in Swahili language courses at Howard will count towards the foreign language requirement.  The course sequence for the basic Swahili language courses is as follows:

Swahili I - (SWAH 001) 

Swahili II - (SWAH 002)

Swahili III - (SWAH 003)

Swahili IV - (SWAH 004)